Dimond Improvement Association Minutes of General Meeting, April 5, 2017

7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m., The Altenheim

Attendees:

Current DIA board members: Zandile Christian, Fran Donohue, Julie Johnson, Marion Mills, Robert Raburn, Tom Rose, Daniel Swafford, Victoria Wake. DIA members, The Altenheim residents, and general public: Approximately 50.

Program:

Zandile welcomed the attendees. Three short updates were given: Karen Long on Dimond Library renovation; Robert on the Caltrans park & ride lot project; and Zandile on the Keep Dimond Clean 2107 fundraiser. Robert announced that Michele Doppelt, Dimond Park Recreation Supervisor, and Trevor Wallace, her husband, were selected as the DIA Volunteers of the Year. Neither was in attendance so the presentation will be made at a later date.

Victoria conducted the election on two bylaws changes (see attached for full text) and the Board of Directors. The ballot included ten current board members seeking re-election and four new candidates. Members in attendance were given printed information on the proposed bylaws changes and the board candidates. (This information was also sent via email a few days prior to all members, except those without email addresses in the member database.)

A call was made for additional board nominations from the floor, but no names were put forward. Members in good standing then completed their ballots, which were collected and counted by Karen-Marie Schroeder and later confirmed by Victoria. A total of 31 ballots were cast, with the following results:

Proposed bylaws change #1: Shall Article V be amended to increase the maximum number of board members to 17? Yeas 16, Nays 11

Proposed bylaws change #2: Shall Article IX be amended and a new Article X be added to hold the election of board officers at the first regular board meeting following the general meeting where all board members are elected? Yeas 26, Nays 2

Board of Directors: Farouq Alawdi (29); Ahmad Anderson (29); Zandile Christian (30); Fran Donohue (28); Craig Flanery (29); Julie Johnson (30); Katherine Kott (29); Marion Mills (30); Ryan Romaneski (30); Robert Raburn (29); Jennifer Joey Smith (27); Daniel Swafford (30); JoAnn Tracht-Rawson (30); Victoria Wake (30).

Following the election, six local professional musicians—Tom Rose, Michael Dailey, Carol Schwamberger, Katherine Baird, Shauna Revelli, and Veronica Agranov-Defoe—performed a beautiful classical concert, featuring works of Tchaikovsky, Satie, Crussell, Quilter, Handel, and Tosti.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 8:30 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Victoria Wake